tuna noodle casserole

As a kid, there were certain foods that my mother made only when  she was mad at me. Lumpy cream of wheat meant I had probably been badgering her with questions, Salisbury steak was punishment for fighting with my sister. However, if tuna casserole was on the menu, she was on the verge of selling me to gypsies. I despise tuna noodle casserole.

Of course, like any mean mother who has been transformed into the “cool” grandma, she denies all this. But, my sister and I don’t buy the whole “Your dad likes it” defense. He also loved shrimp, but I never recall that on the table. seriously, no one can like that mushy, fishy stuff.

So, yesterday, I was visiting with my mother in the kitchen and she began to pull out the ingredients for lunch. My spidey senses immediately began to tingle. I wondered what I possibly could have done wrong since I had last seen her. it couldn’t be my report card this time, I’m expecting an A on my nephew’s 3rd grade diorama. My sister and I are the best of friends after a protracted war. My mom saw the look on my face and wailed “your father likes it!” Sure, mom, sure.

So, what were the foods your mom served that you knew she was mad at you when she put them on the table?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

