I’m late, I’m late for a very important date.

Sorry guys, My weekend was a little bit crazy, my husband is getting a little bit jealous of the time I spend knitting. I’m not sure how to feel about that. The only thing that I can think of as a reason for him to feel this way is that he has been working insane amounts of overtime for the past few weeks. This is completely out of character for him.

As a result, I have spent most of my weekend trying to appease his need for family time. I did finish the third repeat of the Fiji lace wrap. I think I am going to shorten it considerably. the pattern called for 11 repeats but it is a 28 row pattern and I am only 5’3″. I think 7 repeats will more than meet my needs w/o making me feel like a mummy.

Also. in the miracle corner, my mom has actually asked me to make her a scarf. My mom has few flaws, but one of them has been an unnatural prejudice against knitting. I think it dates back to my great-grandmother and her love of mixing orange, brown, yellow, and purple into concoctions that would make your eyes bleed. So now, I am adding the shibori scarf to my list. It’s my first beaded project. Any advice is much valued. Remember when i said I was going to be selfish with my knitting this year? Apparently, I’m not as good as that as I thought. Except with strawberries and chocolate. Hope everyone has had a more productive week than me.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “I’m late, I’m late for a very important date.

  1. Haven’t done any bead work so no advice there, but anxious to see what you come up with. Nice your Mom is coming around about how wonderful your craft is. Tell hubby to put his big boy pants on and adjust, lol. Seriously hubby sometimes wonders why I knit or crochet as much as I do; but if he’s reading and or watching tv, I can be in the same room working away….we’re spending time together, right…just not doing the same thing.

  2. I love it when somebody asks me to make something for them. My two girls are a bit like your Mom but lately, my youngest (adult) has been asking for the odd thing now and then. Maybe she’s coming around too ? Have a good week. xoxox

  3. So exciting that you can knit for your Mum even if it is a scarf. All I do is knit for my family, even if they don’t ask for it.

  4. DH tells me that knitting is very antisocial; it can be hard to balance my time when sometimes all I want to do is to be left alone to knit!

    No help here on beading – sorry!

  5. It’s a hard balance Misty, that’s for sure. I think my husband gets how happy crafting makes me. It does remind him of his mum, who we lost nearly 4 years ago, and I’m never sure if that is a good feeling for him or not. He works for a US company and does a lot of international travel. So he will come back from travel desperate for family time, whereas I always appreciate him talking Small Girl for a bit so I can get some time to myself. Which sounds dreadfully selfish written down like that, but i think that’s how it can be when you’re parenting on your own.

    Good luck with your wrap. How lovely that your mum has asked for something, maybe you’ll be able to get her knitting as well as your sister ;). My mum always looks a bit like she has won the daughter lottery whenever I take out any crafting to do. She is a very talented crafter herself and I think is very happy to see me enjoying it too.

  6. Normally, he does get it, but I think he’s feeling a little left out right now. Family time is what makes Mike feel connected to us, and he is working crazy hours right now. So, i get it, but knitting is my down time, too. My days are as long as his are, because Liv refuses to sleep before daddy comes through the door. Sometimes that’s not until 3 am.

    My sister’s husband works like yours too, so it doesn’t sound selfish to me at all. You need a break too. I think those little refreshers are what makes us more patient and tolerant mothers.

  7. My husband’s mother and sister are both sewers and knitters so he gets that ican watch tv with him and knit at the same time. Of course he s usually surfing the web then anyways. I understand the poster who wanted hubby to take kids. If I don’t get alone time I get VERY irritable.

Leave a Reply

